11 Awards for Artistic Excellence Presented

Font Size: A A A
Printer-friendly version
First Place – Best of Show, Liquid Sapphire by Erin Johnson

Dawson Community College 2009 Fall Juried Student Art Show

This year’s Dawson Community College Fall Juried Student Art Show, included 39 artists with more than 100 artworks on display. On Wednesday, December 9th at 1PM we had the artists’ reception and awards presentation. Quite a few students dropped by to enjoy the art, some conversation, cookies, hot chocolate, and hot apple cider. Members from the community, art lovers, grandmothers, and boyfriends, faculty, staff, and administration, also, joined in along with our jurors John Marble and Tracey Clingingsmith, unfortunately Don Mast was unable to come, and a lot of people had to be in class –such disciplined students!

So, in case you missed it. You can see images of the award winning artwork below, along with some of those who made it to the presentation. Awards for Fall 2009 are Peoples’ Choice Award, $20 Bookstore Gift Certificate, Jubilee Keller - Baby Colt; Director of Public Relations Award, Front or Back Cover of the DCC 20010-2011 Student Handbook and Girl Scout cookies, Erin Johnson - Shini Shuzoku; First Place – Best of Show, $30 BGC, Erin Johnson - Liquid Sapphire. . .; Second Place, $25 BGC, Amanda Crane - Abstract; Third Place, $20 DCC BGC, Mette Scarpholt - Clara; Fourth Place, $15 DCC BGC, Jubilee Keller; Honorable Mention, $10 DCC BGC, Bobbie Jo Mischel - Snow Capped Mountains; Best of Printmaking, $10 BGC, Inga Nead - Star; Best of Drawing, $10 BGC, Angela Schneider - Tiger; Best of Painting, $10 BGC, Jubilee Keller - Colors, Best of Sculpture, $10 DCC BGC, Amanda Shadbolt - Timeless Man of Stone.

Colors by Jubilee Keller

Best of Painting, Jubilee Keller - Colors

The prizes were generously donated by DCC President Jim Cargill, DCC Dean of Administrative Services Justin Cross, DCC Director of Public Relations Jane Wynne, DCC Associated Student Body, DCC Art Department, and DCC Art Instructor Gretchen Bederman in recognition of the accomplishments and talent of our amazing student artists.

Congratulations and thanks to all the student exhibitors for a great art show. Derek Atwell, Ben Ayre, Amanda Crane, Cassidy Damm, Corrie Easley, Destiny Egeness, Mikey Escarcega, Kelsi Frank, Ben Grann, Brent Hansen, Dustin Harpster, Laura Hoffert, Caroline Kunst, Natasha Hutchison, Erin Johnson, Jubilee Keller, Bobby King, Brad Krogedal, Lacey Lee, Cynthia McCrea, Bobbie Mischel, Inga Nead, Alissa O’Dea, Carol Peabody, Ben Rowe, Bo Sanchez, Mette Scarpholt, BobiJo Schipman, Amanda Shadbolt, Angela Schneider, Courtney Talerico, Bailey Tennent, Derek Weis, Melissa Yarbrough, Jesse Bissegger, Jami Egeness, Nathan Ehret, Selina Frank, Darla Harris.

Our Mission | Contact Us | Site Map | A-Z Index | Privacy Policy | Problems?
Dawson Community College | 300 College Drive | Glendive, Montana 59330
Phone: 1.406.377.3396 | Toll-Free: 1.800.821.8320 | Fax: 1.406.377.8132